Targus Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Targus Stylus for iPad®

Targus Stylus for iPad®

The Targus Stylus for Apple iPad makes it easy to take notes, draw or simply turn a page. The stylus features a durable rubber tip that won’t scratch the iPad’s surface and allows the user to type accurately and comfortably. The stylus engages directly with your electronic, touch-screen device, requires no power or software to operate and instantly works right out of the box.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
5
10 out of 27(37%)reviewers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Review 1 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKO
Location: North Carolina
I've had this product for: 12+ months

Amazing Stylus for Designers

PostedDecember 10, 2011by
MKO
I use this stylus on all my apple products every single day. It's great, I've owned it for a year and have never had a single problem. Recently started using it on my macbook pro's trackpad (instead of buying an expensive tablet and it works wonderfully in adobe)! Its a well-balanced and well-designed tool, feels substantial in your hand without being bulky or too light weight. Very natural to draw and write with. Good job Targus!
Location: North Carolina
I've had this product for: 12+ months
Pros: solid design, sleek, well made, won't break!
Cons: none!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mvp2448
Location: Galena, iL
I've had this product for: 7-9 months

A+ for style.....BUT

PostedJuly 15, 2013by
Mvp2448
Style and comfort are great, but durability is very poor. I've used it on my Ipad for 8 months it seem that for the price it should have longer longevity. Save your money!
Location: Galena, iL
I've had this product for: 7-9 months
Pros: style
Cons: not very durable
Review 3 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brendan
Location: Seattle, WA
I've had this product for: Less than a month

Tip Split After 30 Minutes

PostedJuly 11, 2013by
Brendan
What a waste. It split right in the middle of the tip so when I use it a piece of the rubber flips up and drags along the screen. No replacements are available. An unfortunate waste of money. Pretty good design though.
Location: Seattle, WA
I've had this product for: Less than a month
Review 4 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Razzinaz
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
I've had this product for: 4-6 months

Tip Trouble after less than Six Months

PostedApril 30, 2013by
Razzinaz
I was so impressed with my stylus, I bought two. And then, bought another to give to a friend. I have been rotating between the two I bought, using them daily on my iPad. Alas, one continues to work fine (the red one) and one has lost it's 'drag' and is mostly annoying (the pink one).
Not sure whether color is the driver, but I intend to try to get a refund on the bad one.
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
I've had this product for: 4-6 months
Pros: lightweight, well built, many great colors
Cons: one of the three i bought failed after <6 months
Review 5 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buddie92
Location: Franklin, Virginia
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Doesn't last!

PostedMarch 11, 2013by
Buddie92
My daughter gave me this stylus for Christmas and I use it everyday. Today is 3/11 and the tip is already torn. Sure didn't last long, but I do like the weight and the way it feels in my hand. Would not buy another one....it's not durable!
Location: Franklin, Virginia
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate
Location: Mountain Home
I've had this product for: 7-9 months

This product is durable and easy to use!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013by
Kate
We bought the Targus Stylus Pen after we purchased an iPad. This product we found to be of great value, easy to use, and safe for all our touchscreen devices. I like the size as well. The length is comfortable and fits easily in my hand in different positions, the rubber tip end is strong and durable and very little pressure is needed to touch and glide along the screen. I find that when I keep my screen clean it improves the use of the stylus pen also meaning that it slides easier and less pressure needed for touch commands. It works better than my finger because it seems to have less surface area than my finger preventing touch prompts that I don't want. I love it and would recommend it to anybody needing only one stylus pen for all devices.
Location: Mountain Home
I've had this product for: 7-9 months
Pros: length and diameter, slickness in hand, strong perfectly sized rubber tip, durable tip, color is soft brushed silver, top of stylus pen has round attachment hook, clip is just like one on a writing pen, clip strong with reasonable width elasticity
Cons: did not come with cord attachment
Review 7 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike71
Location: St, Petersburg, FL
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Definitely a short term relationship

PostedJanuary 4, 2013by
Mike71
I bought this item about a month ago for my iPad.
At first it was fantastic really enjoyed how well it worked while typing and swiping. Totally saved me from the numb finger.
Then, the tip fell off.... Really?!?!? for $15 bucks it should have lasted longer than that.
Cannot recommend this item....
Location: St, Petersburg, FL
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Pros: works well, nice style
Cons: does not last, poor quality
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
riskybzns
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Doesn't last long

PostedNovember 5, 2012by
riskybzns
After about 2-4 weeks, depending on how often you use it, the slickness from the tip fades making it hard to glide across the screen.
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Pros: lightweight
Cons: doesn't last long
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AppleExpert
Location: Franklin, OH
I've had this product for: Less than a month

Awesome

PostedNovember 2, 2012by
AppleExpert
I am using this now! It's a great product for a good price. The best stylus ever! It works the best on my iPad, but also very nice on my iPhone and iPod touch.
Location: Franklin, OH
I've had this product for: Less than a month
Pros: easy, good price, works, smooth
Review 10 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bnatti
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I've had this product for: 4-6 months

This product does not have any staying power.

PostedOctober 23, 2012by
bnatti
I have purchased 3 in the last four months. The tip has fallen off all three stylus' within 30 -60 days. At $15 they are not cheap and to last less than 2 months is ridiculous. I would not recommend it. It is expensive junk!
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I've had this product for: 4-6 months
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fldofdrms01
Location: Sparrowbush, NY

THUMBS DOWN ;0(

PostedOctober 21, 2012by
Fldofdrms01
After having for two weeks the rubber tip is worn and leaving black marks all over my iPad. I've tried the cheap ones on eBay and thought I'd try a "good one" the cheap ones actually lasted longer.
Very disappointed in the quality, all my other Targus products have been top notch. Makes me question my future purchases.
Location: Sparrowbush, NY
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Joe
Location: Oxford, OH
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Wears out too quickly

PostedSeptember 25, 2012by
Joe
My initial impression was that it was an excellent product. However, after a while I noticed that scrolling and swiping were not as smooth, that clicks were being missed, and that I had to apply greater and greater pressure to get it to perform. No amount of cleaning made any difference - it seems to lose it capacitance, rendering it no more than an expensive non-functional stick. I'm giving Targus one more shot at this, since when it works, it works great. If my second stylus wears out as quickly as the first, I'll be looking for another manufacturer. I agree with the other reviewers that replacement tips would be in order, especially considering the price, and as of now I can't highly recommend it.
Location: Oxford, OH
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Pros: works well initially
Cons: performance degrades after time
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
john
Location: boston, ma
I've had this product for: Less than a month

junk

PostedSeptember 25, 2012by
john
tip came off, after three days.
no replacement..........................................................
Location: boston, ma
I've had this product for: Less than a month
Pros: none
Cons: durability
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Targus:By Targus Web TeamSeptember 26, 2012
Dear Customer,
Based on the information below, your Targus product is still under warranty and qualifies for replacement.

Please contact our technical support line at 1-800-283-6325, where you will find someone to assist you.

We apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to helping you.

Sincerely,
Targus Inc.
Review 14 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
School Mom
Location: Maryland
I've had this product for: Less than a month

great design, but "tip"doesn't last

PostedSeptember 22, 2012by
School Mom
As more and more schools require students to have iPads, Targus is going to need to do something about the durability of the stylus "tips". My son used his for a week, and the tip broke. The apps used in his middle school require the use of a stylus. Replacement tips would go a long way in alleviating the frustration I am experiencing with having a brand new product fail in the first week of use. I have appreciated the quality of many Targus products over the years and hope that Targus responds with a stylus offering that meets customer's needs.
Location: Maryland
I've had this product for: Less than a month
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tom
Location: new York City
I've had this product for: 7-9 months

Piece of junk

PostedSeptember 22, 2012by
Tom
Worked great for 1month. Then tip became too mushy. Then it developed a hole in the rubber tip. The hole keeps getting bigger. I thought I could screw off the tip & replace it, no such luck. This item isn't inexpensive, it's not a throwaway at the price it costs.
The company should replace it for free because of poor workmanship.
Location: new York City
I've had this product for: 7-9 months
Pros: nice style
Cons: tip made cheaply
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Znm
I've had this product for: Less than a month

I wish it had an app

PostedJune 12, 2012by
Znm
First off I just love the product it's great. It is easy to type with and has just the right weight. I am disappointed that this product does not come with an app. In the app I would like a note pad you can write in that would be just like a real note book. I love typing it's just that it would be cool to be able the write on your screen. Other than that it is a great product.
I've had this product for: Less than a month
Pros: i love how it feels to hold
Cons: i wish it had an app
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GMS
Location: CT
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Started off great

PostedMay 15, 2012by
GMS
At first I loved the pen and recommended it to everyone. After two months,the tip did not move as smoothly across the screen and seemed to get stuck and not perform well at all. I bought a second one at the same time and I will see how long it lasts. I was very disappointed with its short lifespan.
Location: CT
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Cons: short lived
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grobbetter
Location: Madrid, Spain
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Nice product but tip was broken in just one month

PostedMay 8, 2012by
grobbetter
Just like other clients I like the stylus and it worked really nice while it lasted. The problem is that even when you take care of the tip, it is very clear that it is not durable at all. My suggestion to Targus is to provide at least 3 additional tips for replacement with the product and/or to sell the tips independently, just like other competitor products do.
Location: Madrid, Spain
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Pros: nice product and smooth writing
Cons: tip not durable (only lasted one month).
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bigdogpeter
Location: Houston, Texas
I've had this product for: 1-3 months

Product is not durable

PostedApril 18, 2012by
Bigdogpeter
Bought the product two months ago and the tip started to rip after 45 days of regular use. The rubber tip is too mushy and hangs up on the screen protector.This the second IPAD stylus I have purchased and will not purchase again
Location: Houston, Texas
I've had this product for: 1-3 months
Pros: none
Cons: rubber tip rips too easily
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Targus Stylus for iPad®
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rick
Location: Omaha, NE
I've had this product for: 7-9 months

Last for a while then dies

PostedApril 6, 2012by
Rick
I bought this product for Sketchbook and Penultimate on my iPad. Its near flawless at first - wish it had a finer tip. But after a few months the performance began to degrade. Funny thing...I bought two at the same time because it was the best quality I had seen. I bought two because I figured it was to good to be true...Turns out it that it was just to good to last. When the clip scratches the body it no longer looks elegant; it looks ugly. The tip wears out to become almost non-functional and irritating. I thought it would be the pen that never runs out of ink. I'm still searching for that perfect stylist!
Location: Omaha, NE
I've had this product for: 7-9 months
Pros: initial high quality
Cons: degrades to quickly
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Targus:By MarketingApril 6, 2012
Rick, we strongly recommend wiping the tip clean with water and a cloth. With heavy use, the build-up of dust and debris can make writing sticky and in some cases, even cause the rubber tip to tear open.
1 2 next>>